The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration has established its five-member Medical Review Board (MRB)—which ultimately will guide the agency toward establishing “realistic and responsible medical standards” for commercial motor vehicle drivers.

The members are:

  • Dr. Gunnar Andersson, senior vp for Medical Affairs, Rush University Medical Center, and professor and chair of Orthopedic Surgery;
  • Dr. Michael Greenberg, associate director for Medical Toxicology, Drexel University College of Medicine and director of the Medical Toxicology Fellowship Program;
  • Dr. Kurt Hegmann, director and associate professor of Rocky Mountain Center for Occupational and Environmental Health, Dept. of Family and Preventive Medicine at the University of Utah;
  • Dr. Barbara Phillips, chair of the National Sleep Foundation and professor at the University of Kentucky College of Health in the Department of Preventive Medicine;
  • Dr. Matthew Rizzo, professor of Neurology at the University of Iowa College of Medicine.

    Board members will serve a two-year term and may be reappointed.

    Members must possess expertise in a medical specialty, an understanding of research methods, knowledge of transportation medical issues, experience on panels that develop medical standards, a record of scientific collaboration, professional service, and experience developing teaching programs.