A group of million mile, accident-free truck drivers have been chosen as the 2011-2012 America’s Road Team captains. Created by the American Trucking Assns. (ATA) and sponsored by Volvo Trucks North America, the captains of America’s Road Team will traverse the country for the next two years to deliver trucking’s safety message to the public and the media, and at community events.

This year’s team includes 18 captains with 483 years of collective driving experience and more than 36.5 million accident-free miles under their belts. The group was chosen from 34 finalists who competed in a number of competitions, including a review of their industry expertise and a demonstration of communication skills.

“The America's Road Team puts an impressive face behind the wheel,” said ATA president & CEO Gov. Bill Graves. “These ambassadors to the industry have remarkable safe driving records and an unmatched enthusiasm for their job and for the industry. Their desire to share their knowledge and passion for safety benefits the motoring public and helps keep our highways safe. The trucking industry is proud to welcome the 2011-2012 America’s Road Team.

The Road Team was first fielded back in 1986.

This year’s captains are:

Willie Atkinson, Con-way Freight, Inc., Florence, SC
Gary G. Babbitt, Central Freight Lines, Inc., Irving, TX
Joe Allen Boyd, Wal-Mart Transportation, Mt. Crawford, VA
David Boyer, ABF Freight System, Inc., Wytheville, VA
Randall Dee Briggs, YRC, West Valley City, UT
Danny Fuller, Con-way Freight, Inc., Jonesboro, AR
Samuel Douglas Lee, Old Dominion Freight Line, Greensboro, NC
Alphonso Lewis, YRC, Montgomery, AL
Kenny Lowry, Wal-Mart Transportation, Laurens, SC
Dennis Martin, UPS Freight, Gaffney, SC
Nate McCarty, ABF Freight System, Inc., Denver, CO
Tim McElwaney, ABF Freight System, Inc., Conley, GA
Roger L. Nicholson, UPS Freight, Savannah, GA
J.W. Ray, Werner Enterprises, Omaha, NE
Dion Saiz, FedEx Freight, Albuquerque, NM
Jeffrey Wade, Southeastern Freight Lines, Summerville, SC
Brooks Washburn, FedEx Freight, Albuquerque, NM
Robert L. Weller, Hahn Transportation Inc., New Market, MD

Volvo Trucks congratulates the highly skilled drivers chosen to serve as trucking industry ambassadors in 2011 and 2012," said Ron Huibers, senior vp of sales & marketing for Volvo Trucks North America. "These dedicated professionals help create safer highways for all of us and ensure the timely delivery of life's essentials. Volvo also applauds the companies who so generously provide these drivers, making the America's Road Team possible."