The Truckload Carriers Association (TCA) has recognized 18 carriers in six divisions for their commitments to safety and accident reduction with National Fleet Safety Awards. These 18 will compete for two grand prizes, one for less than 25 million miles and one for more than 25 million miles driven.

Companies were evaluated in a two-step application process. First, their reported accident frequency per million miles driven was calculated and then the top three were audited by an independent expert to verify the numbers.

The 18 companies will be recognized at an awards ceremony during TCA’s Annual Convention, Feb. 28 through March 3, 2010, at the Wynn Las Vegas in Las Vegas. They will also be recognized at the Safety & Security Division Annual Meeting May 16-18, 2010, at the Crown Center Hyatt Hotel in Kansas City, MO.

To win the grand prize, companies will be judged on their overall safety programs, both on- and off-highway, including employee driver/independent contractor selection procedures, training, supervision, accident investigation, inspection and maintenance of equipment, and outside activities.

This year’s honorees include:

Division I winners (less than 5 million miles): 1. Specialty Transport Inc., Knoxville, TN; 2. PAF Transportation Inc., Scarborough, ME; 3. Frerichs Freight Lines Inc., Belleville, IL.

Division II winners (5-14.99 million miles): 1. Davis Transport Inc., Missoula, MT; 2. Refrigerated Food Express Inc., Avon, MA; 3. AAT Carriers Inc., Chattanooga, TN

Division III winners (15-24.99 million miles): 1. Erb International Inc., New Hamburg, Ontario; 2. Nationwide Express Inc., Shelbyville, TN; 3. Ace Doran Hauling & Rigging Company, Cincinnati, OH.

Division IV winners (25-49.99 million miles): 1. MacKinnon Transport Inc., Guelph, Ontario; 2. Kennesaw Transportation Inc., White, GA; 3. Freymiller Inc., Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Division V winners (50-99.99 million miles): 1. Carter Express Inc., Anderson, IN; 2. Earl L. Henderson Trucking Company, Salem, IL; 3. NFI Interactive Logistics LLC, Cherry Hill, NJ

Division VI winners (100+ million miles): 1. Bison Transport Inc., Winnipeg, Manitoba; 2. Gordon Trucking Inc., Pacific, WA; 3. Roehl Transport Inc., Marshfield, WI.