The American Trucking Assns. (ATA) unveiled the captains of its 2001 America’s Road Team on Wednesday. The 12 drivers will spend the next two years speaking on behalf of the ATA to the news media and the public about transportation issues and highway safety. They will also have the opportunity to testify before Congress.

The drivers are Robert St. John of Jevic Transportation, David Bowers of Yellow Freight Systems, Howard Shields of Schneider Transportation, Charles McClellan of M.S. Carriers, Robert Kleinschmidt of Con-Way Central Express, Daniel Hiser of ABF Freight System, James Curtis of ABF Freight System, Jennifer Zinkel of FedEx Ground, Paul Barnes of Pottle's Transportation, Ina Daly of Con-Way Western Express, Daniel Poole of The Boeing Company and Michael Bridgman of Ryder System.

"We in the trucking industry know that the general public and other motorists get their impression of the trucking industry from how our drivers behave on the highway," said Walter B. McCormick Jr., ATA president and CEO, "So we put the best of the best out there to do the talking for us."

To be nominated to serve as a Road Team captain, a person must be employed as a company driver or leased owner-operator by a dues-paying member of ATA. The 12 new captains have traveled at least one million miles without an accident and have a combined 236 years of combined experience.